Adding Users to your Blackboard Course

In order to add a student, instructor, or other user not registered by the Registrar to your course, or to add users to an informal course, you must add them through the Blackboard Role Assignment Tool in Portal. Any users enrolled this way will not be visible in your Portal Class List, so if the student or instructor is to get credit for the class, please consult the Registrar to have them officially enrolled.

Please consult the Blackboard User Roles Knowledge Base Article for more information on the different alternative/informal Blackboard user roles.

For more information, please continue below:

This should only be done if the user is not getting credit for the course through the registrar, either as the instructor or a student. Users added through to the course by the registrar should show up in the Blackboard course automatically.

Instructors can add users to to a course up to 2 years after the particular course has ended. To do this, instructors must:

    1. Log into the Portal.
    2. Access your Faculty tab.

3. Scroll down to the Blackboard Role Assignment Tool.

4. Enter the user's name or ID number, and confirm that this is the correct person you wish to add.

5. Select the course in which you want to enroll the user.

6. Change the role for which you want to assign this user.

7. Click Submit.

If you are trying to add a user to a previously merged course, add them to one of the original sections/courses.  They will be picked up and added to the merge course in Blackboard as well.

    1. Log into the Portal.
    2. Access your Faculty tab.

3. Scroll down to the Blackboard Role Assignment Tool.

4. Click View

5. You should be able to see users you have informally or alternatively enrolled in your courses, and information about how they were enrolled


This should only be done if the user was enrolled through the Blackboard Role Assignment Tool (If they weren't enrolled by the registar). Users who had been added through to the course by the registrar, but have dropped the course should automatically be removed from the Blackboard course.
    1. Log into the Portal.
    2. Access your Faculty tab.

3. Scroll down to the Blackboard Role Assignment Tool.

4. Click View

5.Locate the user listing that you want to remove.

6.After verifying that this is the correct entry, click Delete next to this entry.

Please Note: It will take about an hour for the Blackboard and Portal servers to sync, please do not enter the user more than one time.

  • 56
  • 16-May-2016
  • 884 Views